Lamphere Scholarship Fund

Eighteen scholarships were presented to graduating seniors from the Lamphere Scholarship Fund at the 2017 Lamphere High School Honors Convocation on May 31, 2017. The Lamphere Scholarship Fund was established during the 2006-2007 school year to help students go on to college.

The fund has been supported entirely through donations from staff and community groups and fundraisers such as our annual Trivia Night.  The first year, 4 scholarships were awarded; and to date, $223,000 in scholarships has been awarded to Lamphere students which include the 18 that were awarded this year.

The first 4 scholarships presented at this year’s Honors Convocation were presented by some special guests and organizations that have annually contributed to the scholarship fund and we want to recognize them for their generosity and support. 

Mike Kairis and family presented the first scholarship in honor and memory of Janine Kairis who retired from Lamphere Schools and had served as an elementary teacher for 21 years!  When Janine passed away shortly after retiring, many people made donations to the Scholarship Fund in her honor. 

The $1000 scholarship, in tribute to Janine Kairis, goes to Allison Berger who will be attending Wayne State University.

Retired Educational Employees of Lamphere
Judy Grove represented the REEL group who has generously donated money every year since the scholarship fund was started.  Thank you for your support. 

The $1000 scholarship in tribute to the REEL organization goes to  Ben Weide who will be attending Hillsdale College.

Ron Berlin retired from Lamphere after serving the district as a teacher and high school assistant principal for 39 years.  Ron has also been a generous donor to the scholarship fund since its inception.

The $1000 scholarship, in tribute to Ron Berlin, goes to Cali Vaughn who will be attending Bowling Green State University

Another important contributor to the Scholarship Fund is the Masters Restaurant.  The owners of the Masters have been extremely generous to Lamphere annually donating money to the reading program as well as the scholarship fund and we want to thank them for their donations and support.

Nick Alexopolous presented the $1000 scholarship in tribute to the Masters Restaurant to

Scout Marson, who will be attending Western Michigan University.

Former superintendent Marsha Pando was recognized with a scholarship in her name. Pando  established the Lamphere Scholarship Fund in the 2006-2007 school year because it was her dream to see every child continue their education if they wished to. 

The $1000 scholarship, in tribute to Marsha Pando, goes to Chloe Heikkinen who will be attending the College for Creative Studies.

The following students were also awarded scholarships from the Lamphere Scholarship fund.

Donald Glenn - Central Michigan University
Sarah Barrett - Wayne State University
Joleyana Hirmiz - Oakland University
Vy Nguyen - Wayne State University
Claire Nickles - Olivet Nazarene University
Suzanne Awali - University of Michigan-Dearborn
Erin Burcham - Maine College of Art
Kaitlin Morrow - Northern Michigan University
Alex Yosif - Wayne State University
Sofia Gerstler - Kent State University
Heena Patel - Wayne State University


The last two awards presented went to the students who won the promise of a scholarship when they were still in middle school in 2013.  The requirements to actually receive the scholarship were:

•To maintain at least a 3.0 GPA,
•Graduate from Lamphere High School, and
•Be accepted to a College or University

Both of these students have completed all of those requirements.

Sarah Barrett – Will be attending Wayne State University

Christine Chanbour – Will also be attending Wayne State University

“I would like to thank everyone who has generously donated money or attended one of the fundraisers that support the Scholarship fund,” said Dale Steen, Superintendent of Lamphere Schools.  “It is because of the generosity of our staff, retirees and community members that we are able to award so many scholarships each year.”

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.